Product Review: TOKSTICK

#1 What is Tokstick?

At-home microneedle skincare device from BeuOn (click here). They are equipped with 49 pure gold-plated and V-shaped groove needles end that allows deeper and better penetration of products into the deeper part of your skin

tokstick_img03_01 (1).jpg

#2 How it works?

This device has the same principle as dermaroller where they create a microinjury on your skin thus stimulate or induce the skin repair and regeneration. But there are some points that make them different (or even better).

First, they are much safer to use than a regular dermaroller since their needles are super fine (0.18mm). You can do several passes (or stamp) on a certain area of concern (scarring or fine lines)

Second, they are very travel-friendly. They are designed to be very light-weight with a size of a regular lipstick.

Third, simultaneous product delivery. Their V-shaped line (V-groove) on the tip of each needle help products to be absorbed directly into the deeper layer of the skin which also means increasing the efficacy of products being delivered

Tokstick7-300x300.jpg

However, it should be noted that the durability of this device could greatly depend on how you take care of the device itself. Bending/dullness of the needles are inevitable after around 10 times of usage. Although the manufacturer told me personally that it could actually last much longer depending on how you take care of the products itself.

#3 How to use it (based on their instruction)

It is recommended to use the device 1-2 times a week depending on your skin

Pre-treatment:

Sterilize the needle and the body compartment with Sterilizing Alcohol for at least 5 minutes before each usage.

Treatment:

howto02-1-e1524056306119.jpg

Put your favourite watery-products (essences, skin, serum) into their body compartment and stamped them all over your cleansed face (Don’t put product with thick consistency as it won’t be delivered as well). Stamped it (preferably) for around 15-20 minutes.

tip.jpg

If you don’t feel like your skincare product (let’s say: essence) is not released as well, you can just put the device upside down and shake it several times (left). On the other hand, if essences being released are a little bit too runny or too much to your liking, you can hold the device with the needle side facing upwards for a few seconds to slow down their release.

Post-treatment:

Application of sheet mask is recommended to help the healing process and calm down the redness during the process

howto02-11.jpg

#3 Claims

They claimed that they can improve fine lines, speed up skin regeneration (fade scars), improve skin texture and reduce pore sizes.

#4 My experience

  • Design

They are made of a very cheap-like plastic container which I didn’t expect at first. By now, I could actually see the gold-color on their body peeling off. However, this makes them very light and portable at the same time

  •  Needles

Their needles could actually be seen with bare eyes and felt slightly prickly while in contact with my skin. Unlike dermarolling that could be painful at times, their needles indeed are very fine and not painful at all

  • How I sterilized them

I like to sterilize them by drenching them in 70% Isopropyl Alcohol right after every usage. I allowed them to air dry for 10 minutes. making sure that all the alcohol has evaporated entirely (You don’t want to actually deliver ‘harsh’ sterilizing alcohol into your skin). I kept them in a dry and clean place with their cap on and use it directly on the other day.

IMG_2771

Why I don’t sterilize them before every usage instead? It will take too long for me to wait for the whole alcohol to evaporate (I am too impatient for that) and I just want to make sure that the alcohol is entirely gone from both the needle and body compartment

  • Which Essence and how much?IMG_2779

I’ve tried using three essences: Missha Time Revolution FTE, iUNIK Tea Tree Relief Serum, and Troiareuke Skin Complex Formula. They all got dispensed well although the Tea Tree Relief Serum being more on the thicker side takes longer to finish than the other two essences. I used the Troiareuke one most often than the other two

For each of the essence to last for at least 20 minutes of stamping, I need to fill it up to the 3rd line of the device marker. If I put less product, I will end up finishing faster than what I intended

  • Was it painful?

During the process? not at all. It will leave my skin red but immediately toned down after a few minutes (Even without sheet mask). But on the next day, It will make my sensitized my skin to even the slightest touch (as simple as washing my face).

I am one of those people who never got flushed easily after sun exposure. However, D+1 after Tokstick I feel like my skin is more sensitive and flushed much easier when I stay outdoor for a period of time (I try to keep my other skincare routine the same, so I could confidently say that this is one of the aftermaths of Tokstick treatment). It’s nothing bad, but just as a friendly reminder that sun exposure should be kept at a minimum on D+1.

  • Some extra tips

Use with extra cautions on edges within nose! I accidentally slipped the device several times around that area and end up scratching my nose with it instead. It’s not such a big deal on my skin but it might be troublesome if you have more sensitive skin.

  • How long have I been using it?

I used for the very first time back on February. I used it twice (for 2 weeks) and didn’t actually see any significant improvement by that time.

Due to some skin treatment (peeling) that I had during that time, I have to stop using it for 1.5 months. It’s up until recently that I’ve been using it regularly for one straight month (2-3 times a week). This time, I tried to experiment with them a little bit by increasing the frequency and change products that I used afterwards and see which one work best. And by now, this has been my 12th times

  • What’s my best / favorite post-treatment combination?

IMG_2775

I like to put on my all-time favorite Mediheal tea tree sheet mask. I feel like this sheet mask really does help to calm down the redness and top it off with the IUNIK Tea tree relief serum afterwards

Recently been using the well-known stinging Natural Pacific Fresh Herb Serum with or without sheet mask and this has been my favourite combination! I feel like the efficacy of the product is doubled whenever I used Tokstick beforehand. I could witness that the brightening and plumping effect of this serum works better

  • Results

Direct result: On the next day I could always feel like my face is plumper. But nothing else dramatic or mindblowing in my opinion.

Before-after picture: But it came as a surprise to me when I compared the before (bottom) and after (top) picture of using Tokstick for a month

IMG_2731

Please ignore the new scar on my nose (PIH after a cystic acne), but if you look carefully my pore size is visibly smaller and some deep indented scaring seems to be raised and smoothen out a little bit!

However, I couldn’t justify their claims on reducing fine lines and fading hyperpigmentation. Although I could admit that some PIH has faded out throughout this entire process, it would be unfair for me to point out this device as the only main solo player since I still used other skincare products with similar claim simultaneously with them.

  • The verdict

Right after 7 usages, I could feel that the needle is a bit duller than it used to be where I need to press down with somehow greater force in order to feel the same prickling sensation. I do think this proves the durability of the device itself. You should remind yourself before purchasing, that this is not a long-term investment and could be impractical at the same time since you have to replace them to maintain the same efficacy.

However, if you went to a skin clinic or treatment often for this kind of procedure (microneedle), Tokstick could be a very affordable alternative that gives near the same result.

Since I don’t have much of a skin concern that needs to be corrected with this device at this price point, I won’t be personally repurchasing this product.

Nonetheless, I’ve been reading some other people with visible improvement on fine lines and wrinkles. Something that might be considered or think about since this skin concern is harder to solve with solely skincare products.

#5 Where can you get them? 

Here is some link to where you can purchase this device (click here). They are retailed at a price of $75.9

Disclaimer: I got this product from Tokstick for review purpose, all honest opinions are my own

Leave a comment